The following is an excerpt from the Centennial Cup Souvenir Program of 1990.


Passed Away March 30, 1990

Bruce Allison

British Columbia lost a dynamic, hard working and dedicated hockey man with the passing of BCJHL President Bruce Allison. Bruce served B.C. hockey in virtually all capacities; coach, team operator, President and ulimately Director.

Originally from Alberta, Bruce settled in B.C.'s lower mainland in the late 1950's where he promptly started and became the President of the Gulf of Georgia Minor Hockey Association, the fore-runner of Richmond Sea Fair hockey.

During the '60's, Bruce became active as a hockey coach - coaching teams at the Pee Wee, Bantam and Midget levels in both Richmond and Vancouver. It was at this time he became dedicated to the concept of hockey scholarships - the disire to see hockey players have the opportunity to futher their education especially at Canadian Universities.

In 1972 he took over from Tom Shaw as the operator of the Richmond Cohos Junior 'B' team. The next year the team became the Junior 'A' Sockeyes and joined the newly formed Pac 'A' league under Allison's leadership.

Bruce left the Sockeyes to become involved with the Pacific Coast Minor Hockey Association for whom he served as President for two terms. From there he evolved in to the B.C. Amateur Hockey Association and progressed rapidly to the point of becoming President in 1983.

During his 4 years as President of the BCAHA he served as B.C.'s representative as a Director of the CAHA where he gained an impressive reputation as an administrator. At this point Bruce entertained several hockey opportunities, but it was the BCJHL that was fortunate enough to have Bruce agree to assume a leadership role as league President in 1983.

During his two terms Bruce served to lead and orgaize the BCJHL in a way characteristic of one of the most respected people in the hockey community.

BC Hockey - Scholarship

The Bruce Allison Scholarship is awarded in memory of the late Bruce Allison of Richmond. Allison was BC Hockey's 26th president. He was instrumental in establishing and pursuing scholarship opportunities for members of BC Hockey and advocated the pursuit of educational goals through hockey excellence.


The Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player, or players, judged to be the most outstanding rookie during the regular season by the league's coaches. Past winners of the trophy are: Here